Identity

Equipping People To Embrace Their Destiny

Gifts & Talents… Wednesday, May 4, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — jennj @ 7:29 pm

Have you ever wondered why you were good at something or found joy doing a particular thing?  It could be anything…such as baking, decorating cakes, photography, interior design, antique shopping, analyzing, organizing, rebuilding something, traveling, or creating music just to name a few.  Lately, I’ve been discovering new things that bring me joy!  For example, in the last few weeks sewing has been a new discovery.  Making toddler clothing for my daughter has brought me so much joy and satisfaction lately.  For over 10 years now I’ve had a sewing machine, yet it hasn’t been until lately that I’ve really used it and found joy in doing so!  Who would of thought?  In fact, in the past when I’ve helped with projects it has always been something I’ve dreaded, but now it is delightful!  This has started me thinking about other gifts and talents that I possess and their purpose in my life. 

We truly are beautifully and wonderfully made (Psalm 139) and to think that in God’s beautiful timing He reveals to us more about ourselves and the uniqueness and creative ways He has designed and made us!  The other day as I was sewing a dress for my daughter, I was pondering on why these gifts are placed within each of us and yet so often we aren’t even aware of them!  A thought jumped into my mind, “In God’s perfect timing these gifts are revealed to us and it brings Him great delight to show us what we are made of!”  What a beautiful thing!  God created you and me with extraordinary gifts, talents, and creativity all for His glory and to bring Him delight and joy! 

Don’t underestimate what you are made of.  And when you are told that you are gifted and good at something, don’t shy away from that gift!  God has made you perfect, beautiful, and for such a time as this.  He will bring all these gifts and random things in your life to order and in just the right time, He will reveal to you how they will all work together.  Be confident of your Creator and His beautiful plan for your life!